Skip to main content
TIA: Tennessee Inventors Association in Knoxville Tenn and Oak Ridge TN
Oak Ridge and Knoxville, TN  

October 2013 JR Charles and Kickstarter

Meeting Date: 
October 26, 2013

The featured speaker for October was JR Charles. His presentation discussed Kickstarter as a funding tool. Also, the upcoming TIA elections were discussed. The TIA Elections will be held during the November meeting. We have many term limited officers and now is the time for members to step up and contribute to keeping the TIA the great organization that it is. The Ballot is published below. Nominations will be accepted at the October meeting.

Election Information

There are six officers of the TIA. These are a President, an Immediate Past President, a Vice President, a Corresponding Secretary, a Recording Secretary, and a Treasurer. All but the Immediate Past President are to be elected at the November TIA Meeting. The officers have the following duties:

The President presides over the meetings of the Board, the Annual Meeting, and any other meetings of the TIA. The President is limited to 2 one-year terms.  The President shall report on the health of the TIA at the Annual Meeting.

In the absence of the President, the Vice President shall carry out the duties of the President. The Vice President is limited to 2 successive one-year terms.

The Treasurer shall be the chief financial officer responsible for the financial matters of the TIA, subject to the direction of the Board.  The Treasurer is limited to 3 successive one-year terms. The Treasurer shall report on the financial status of the TIA at the Annual Meeting.

The Recording Secretary shall be responsible for the records of the TIA including, but not limited to, a roster of the members and minutes of all meetings. The Recording Secretary is limited to 3 successive one-year terms.

The Corresponding Secretary will distribute information concerning the TIA to outsider, primarily to inform the public of TIA activities. The Corresponding Secretary is limited to 3 successive one-year terms.

The Board of Directors includes the 6 officers and 4 others who are elected for two-year terms. The Board of Directors are not limited in term, but every year two of the four directors are to be elected.

The following ballot shows the incumbents and the newly nominated candidates for the various elected positions. All officers are to be elected.


Officers Incumbent New Nominee
President Carl Papa (term limited) ?
Vice-President Joe Martin (2nd of 2 years)  
Treasurer Dale Burress (2nd of 3 years)  
Recording Secretary Mariano Ruiz (2nd of 3 years)  
Corresponding Secretary Arnold "AJ" Beal (2nd of 3 years)  
Board of Directors: A Rainer Riffert (up for election)  
A Gordon Campbell (up for election)  
B Martin Skinner  
B Holly Shaw